Sidney Events – Sidney & Peninsula Literary Festival

Events Victoria

Sidney Events-Sidney & Peninsula Literary Festival

Do you live in Sidney BC? Are you a writer or an avid reader? If so to all of these questions, there’s an event for you! The Mary Winspear Centre will be host to this year’s Sidney & Peninsula Literary Festival, celebrating everything related to literature: humour, poetry, history, mystery, novels, short stories, and more!

Fourteen renowned Canadian authors will be engaging with book lovers at this event through their readings of their works as well as creative writing workshops, evening panels and discussions, and book signings. Among these authors are Gary Barwin (Yiddish for Pirates and winner of the 2017 Stephen Leacock medal for Humour), Guy Vanderhaege (The Englishman’s Boy), Yasuko Thanh (Mysterious Fragrance of the Yellow Mountains), and Pauline Holdstock (The Hunter and the Wild Girl). The two half-day workshops will be led by Robert Wiersema and Charlotte Gill, respectively.

Tickets to this event can be purchased in person at Tanner’s Books in Sidney (note: cash or cheque payment only), or online at the official website. See below for more details.

This is a literary event that is sure to make you “Expect to be entertained, inspired, and surprised – and to come away from the festival reflecting deeply on what you’ve experienced” – Janet Daines, President of the Sidney and Peninsula Literary Society.

Event Name: Sidney & Peninsula Literary Festival

Date: Friday, September 22 to Sunday, September 24, 2017

Time: 7pm to 9pm Fri.; 9am to 4:30pm & 7pm to 9:30pm Sat.; 9:30am to 11am Sun.

Location: Mary Winspear Centre, 2243 Beacon Avenue, Sidney

Contact: Sidney and Peninsula Literary Society

Telephone: 250-655-1062


Official website:

Cost: $15-140.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>